So a month ago (or so) I was g0ing to make a mad dash to Costco...It was late and Costco was going to close in about 20 min. so when I got to the end of my street which makes me turn right...I drove over the median to go left. There were other reasons for my hasty decision but the upshot is I drove over the median. There wasn't a car anywhere near me except a highway patrol officer. Now this was evidently a slow night...no one was drinking and driving...smokin meth...or engaging in other illegal activities because this hypo felt he really needed to tell me that I am a criminal. So I get the ticket and because he took his sweet time I didnt make it to costco that night anyway! Plus I got a ticket for 85 bucks...GREAT! Glad that the city is safer now anyway.
I didn't want the ticket on the record so I went to the judge and plead not guilty so that I could mull over my options with the county prosecutor and see what I could bargain. So I sit down with him and his two assistants...One by the name of julie who btw is a real peach...and that is as sarcastic as I can make it sound in print...anyway...they tell me that they won't give me a deferred sentence because I had a speeding ticket 4 years ago...SERIOUSLY???? Like I'm obviously a menace to society..why the heck should I get a break?
Now it's time for the judge. Prior to my hearing I sat there and listened to some lawyer pleading for his client and in this case the state (county prosecutor) agreed to DISMISS his reckless driving ticket and speeding ticket in exchange for the guilty plea elsewhere...I'm like what the heck???!!?!!! I can't get my sentence deferred and you just get them dismissed???!??!?!?! JUSTICE! That's all I can say...btw this guy had his child in the car at the time of whatever he was doing...I really don't get it....
The point I haven't made yet is that the median was completely covered in snow. I could (should) have lied and told the judge that I didn't know it was there and they couldn't have given me a ticket...or at least they would have felt not as good about it. My suggestion...If personal integrity is not that much of a virtue for you (or the penalty is too great and you're better off with a guilty conscience) then LIE. If they can't prove it then too stinkin bad. Being honest doesn't get you anywhere in the legal system. They are not outfitted to show compassion or humanity. They just do what they can to make a buck and move on.
Thanks for nothing Yellowstone County, MT!!!
Friday, March 26, 2010
Introduction
Hello bloggers and readers alike. I Have no idea if I will continue to blog...I am not making a commitment but my friends always make comments and joke because I'm always posting comments on articles in the local paper. I'm not overly educated. I am opinionated and this seems like a great place to post your opinions.
Washeju (I am told) is a fairly generic Native American word that means "white guy" or something of the sort. I grew up basically on an Indian reservation and being white, and the minority...lets just say growing up was a challenge. To be clear, I'm not racist nor am I a white Indian...and to steer away from the word Indian I'm going to say Native...I'm just a guy that is white and liked the irony of having Washeju on my license plate.
I have two children, Alexander is 7 and Portia is 3. They are perfect in every way. Alexander is addicted to Halo so we limit his xbox activity to roughly thirty minutes on Friday and thirty on Saturday. He's pretty good and if I let him play as much as he wanted he'd literally never do anything else..(like me on COD). His favorite sport is soccer. We have done wrestling but he's kind of like his dad and not really interested in strength competition. He attends Rims Montessori School here in Billings and is very smart. Portia is a little Princess. She is in gymnastics and has a great time learning and going through the obstacle courses. Portia is absolutely a girly girl playing dressup and tea party are among her favorites. She loves loves loves riding horses and is absolutely undeniably "daddy's girl".
Politically I think I am a middle of the road conservative which is contrary to several of my immediate family's views except my mirror twin brother Beau. My other brother C.J. makes it his goal to offend people on the belief that you should say whatever whenever and if you don't like it too bad...we don't talk. Obama is not for change, socialized medicine is a myth and cannot happen without sacrifice and education, sacrifice and education that I don't believe we as a country are willing to make. We are a society developed on instant gratification and the truly important things cannot be acquired instantly. I own several guns and love to shoot them. My favorite is my 270 rifle which I can shoot just about anything with...second would have to be my ar15 which is absolutely a blast. I have never sited it though I just "spray and pray". Watchin the dirt fly and seeing how fast I can empty a 30 round clip is a lot of fun. I identify with the Christian community and attend Rocky Mountain Community Church. They are a fantastic congregation that is overly supportive both locally and abroad. Okay...maybe I'm a little right of the middle conservative, but I don't oppose Obama just to be argumentative. I believe his ideals are flawed and it's not just because Rush says so. I rarely agree completely with Rush just as I rarely agree with Obama.
Professionally I am an active merchant services representative in a little industry called credit cards. I have several clients and I am a good representative. My clients receive a competitive rate and reliable service and accountability. I'm semi-retired but that ride is about over.
I'm lazy therefore vertically challenged but a new found desire for canoeing, kayaking, white water rafting, and biking should hopefully have a profound impact on my Buddha belly. I also play a little guitar and make up my own songs. Speaking of white water rafting I'm gearing up for a trip with Sunshine Sports of Billings to go down the Lochsa River! It's crazy water and I cannot even adequately describe in words how excited I am for this trip. It's scheduled for the end of May and should be a doozy.
Stay tuned.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)