So a month ago (or so) I was g0ing to make a mad dash to Costco...It was late and Costco was going to close in about 20 min. so when I got to the end of my street which makes me turn right...I drove over the median to go left. There were other reasons for my hasty decision but the upshot is I drove over the median. There wasn't a car anywhere near me except a highway patrol officer. Now this was evidently a slow night...no one was drinking and driving...smokin meth...or engaging in other illegal activities because this hypo felt he really needed to tell me that I am a criminal. So I get the ticket and because he took his sweet time I didnt make it to costco that night anyway! Plus I got a ticket for 85 bucks...GREAT! Glad that the city is safer now anyway.
I didn't want the ticket on the record so I went to the judge and plead not guilty so that I could mull over my options with the county prosecutor and see what I could bargain. So I sit down with him and his two assistants...One by the name of julie who btw is a real peach...and that is as sarcastic as I can make it sound in print...anyway...they tell me that they won't give me a deferred sentence because I had a speeding ticket 4 years ago...SERIOUSLY???? Like I'm obviously a menace to society..why the heck should I get a break?
Now it's time for the judge. Prior to my hearing I sat there and listened to some lawyer pleading for his client and in this case the state (county prosecutor) agreed to DISMISS his reckless driving ticket and speeding ticket in exchange for the guilty plea elsewhere...I'm like what the heck???!!?!!! I can't get my sentence deferred and you just get them dismissed???!??!?!?! JUSTICE! That's all I can say...btw this guy had his child in the car at the time of whatever he was doing...I really don't get it....
The point I haven't made yet is that the median was completely covered in snow. I could (should) have lied and told the judge that I didn't know it was there and they couldn't have given me a ticket...or at least they would have felt not as good about it. My suggestion...If personal integrity is not that much of a virtue for you (or the penalty is too great and you're better off with a guilty conscience) then LIE. If they can't prove it then too stinkin bad. Being honest doesn't get you anywhere in the legal system. They are not outfitted to show compassion or humanity. They just do what they can to make a buck and move on.
Thanks for nothing Yellowstone County, MT!!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment